In Maine, assault charges are governed by state law. The specific statutes and penalties related to assault can be found in the Maine Criminal Code. However, please note that as an AI language model, I do not have access to real-time data or the ability to browse the internet.
In Maine, assault can be classified as either a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the severity of the offense and the specific circumstances. The classification of the offense determines the potential penalties. Generally, assault involves intentionally or recklessly causing physical injury to another person.
It is important to consult the latest version of the Maine Criminal Code or seek legal advice from a qualified attorney in Maine to get the most accurate and up-to-date information regarding assault charges in the state. They will be able to provide you with the specific statutes, penalties, and any recent updates related to assault offenses in Maine.
As cited, the crime of assault is a misdemeanor, carrying a maximum penalty of 364 days in jail and a fine of not less than $300. Of course, as with many other criminal charges, the crime of assault may be charged as a misdemeanor or felony offense depending on a number of factors.