Assault charges in Michigan (MI)

Assault charges in MissouriCan you go to jail for assault in Michigan?
Yes, you can go to jail for assault in Michigan. Assault with intent to cause injury is considered a felony in Michigan, and it is punishable by up to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000.

Michigan defines assault as an attempt to cause physical injury to another person. It also includes any intentional unlawful act or threatening action if the offender appears to have the ability to carry out the act and the act would cause a reasonable person to be in fear of impending violence.

In addition to assault, other violent crimes in Michigan include domestic violence, assault and battery, aggravated assault, robbery, carjacking, and murder. If you are under investigation or facing charges for a violent crime in Michigan, it is important to seek the assistance of an experienced lawyer for pre-file representation to ensure your rights are protected.

Offender Tracking Information System
The Offender Tracking Information System (OTIS) contains information about prisoners, parolees, and probationers who are currently under supervision, or who have been discharged but are still within three years of their supervision discharge date. It does not contain information about offenders who are beyond that three-year period.

Leave a Comment